Revisions & Working Copies

Letterforged on March 29th, 2019

I am very excited to finally reveal a huge upgrade to Statamic's publishing workflow. I'll layout all the gritty details but honestly, it's much more exciting to see in action. Let's just jump right into a demo video!

Unpublished Entries

As long as your entry remains unpublished, you're simply working directly on the entry located in your content/collections/{collection} directory. It will not be visible from the front-end of your site until it's published. You can save a revision at any point.

Revisions

Revisions are stored in the storage directory, and include all the data for your entries at the time of revisions, including additional meta data about the author, timestamp, and so on. You can choose whether you want to include these files in your git repo or not.

Revisions can be previewed and restored as the current working copy so you can edit and re/publish them if you so desire.

Published Entries and the Working Copy

Publishing an entry will create a revision, at which point any additional changes to your entry will be stored on the "working copy" until you choose to publish them. This will let you collaborate and improve existing content without pushing changes live or dealing with feature branches in git (something beyond most content writers and editors).

The working copy, if you have one, is stored along with your revisions. At no point do you ever directly edit and save changes to the published (aka "live") entry.

Unpublishing

Unpublishing an entry will create a revision and remove it from the front-end, at which point you begin working directly on the entry again.

History

The history view will show you all revisions, publish, unpublish, and restore states, and let you preview and restore from any previous point of the entry.

What do you think? Excited? Let us know in Discord!

Jack McDade
Jack McDade, Creator of Statamic
Creator of Statamic

Copyright 2019 ⚔️ Statamic